16th Exotic Beam Summer School (EBSS2017)

July 23-29, 2017 Physics Division, Argonne National Laboratory Argonne, Illinois, USA

APPLICATION DEADLINE: APRIL 15, 2017

The sixteenth Exotic Beam Summer School (EBSS2017) will be held at Physics Division, Argonne National Laboratory from July 23-July 29, 2017 (opening reception on the evening of Sunday, July 23). The aim of the school is to educate young researchers on the excitement and challenges of rare isotope beam science. Through these schools, the research community will be able to more fully exploit the opportunities created by the next-generation exotic beam facilities, such as the Facility for Rare Isotope Beams (FRIB) in the U.S.

A unique feature of this summer school series is the hands-on activities where students spend their afternoons in the laboratory, learning about the techniques and instrumentation needed to carry out experiments with radioactive beams. In EBSS2017, the students will among others get a chance to perform measurements with the GRETINA gamma-ray tracking array, the Gammasphere array of Ge detectors, the Helical Orbit Spectrometer, the Penning trap, the Fragment Mass Analyzer, including an experiment with a heavy-ion beam from the ATLAS facility. In the mornings, lectures on a variety of topics (experimental, theoretical, and applied) will be given by expert speakers. A more detailed program will be posted on the school web site.

The lecturers of EBSS2017 are:

R.V.F. Janssens (Argonne National Laboratory) – Frontiers of Nuclear Physics
G. Hagen (Oak Ridge National Laboratory) – Nuclear Structure Theory
H. L. Crawford (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory) – Nuclear Structure Experiment
I. Thompson (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory) – Nuclear Reactions Theory
R. Zegers (Michigan State University) – Nuclear Reactions Experiment
M. Syphers (Northern Illinois University) – Particle Accelerators and Beam Optics
C. Frohlich (North Carolina State University) – Nuclear Astrophysics
A. Garcia (University of Washington) - Fundamental Symmetries
F.G. Kondev (Argonne National Laboratory) – Neutrinoless Double-Beta Decay
P. Collon (University of Notre Dame) - Accelerator Mass Spectrometry
K. Chipps (Oak Ridge National Laboratory) – Experimental Techniques
C. Folden III (Texas A&M University) – Super-Heavy Nuclei

EBSS2017 is supported by DOE, NSF, and the following laboratories ANL, LBNL, LLNL, ORNL, NSCL/MSU and ARUNA. The school, held annually, rotates among the various laboratories and is specifically designed for graduate students and postdocs (within 2 years of the PhD degree).

The deadline for receipt of a completed application, including a letter of support from the student's advisor/supervisor, is April 15, 2017. The application form can be found on the website. Letters of support should be sent to glover@anl.gov. Lodging and board expenses for the participants will be covered by the school.

To apply for EBSS2017, please visit the school web site: <u>http://www.phy.anl.gov/ebss2017</u>

Please forward this announcement to students and postdocs who might be interested in joining EBSS2017.

Sincerely,

Jacklyn Gates, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory Hiro Iwasaki, Michigan State University Krzysztof Rykaczewski, Oak Ridge National Laboratory Dariusz Seweryniak, Argonne National Laboratory (local organizer) Mark Stoyer, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory Ingo Wiedenhoever, Florida State University (ARUNA representative)